Testimonials

“While I’ve loved the emotional twist and bend of poetry for years and often read several poems before retiring each night, it’s because of Serena Agusto-Cox that my appreciation for poetry has soared to a new level. By highlighting poetry on her blog, Savvy Verse & Wit, Serena has led me to discover gifted poets that I would have otherwise missed. My shelf space reserved for poetry collections has ballooned, and I know the expansion will continue. The added bonus of reading poetry is that I’ve become a better novelist.”

—Beth Hoffman, New York Times and internationally bestselling author of Looking for Me and Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

“I can think of few people more qualified to transport the work of poets to the world of readers than Serena Agusto-Cox. For many years she has stood at the epicenter of poetry and by the side of writers—reading with care, sharing her insights with the world, promoting Poetry Month, heralding the glorious clustering of words. Smart, well-read, ever thoughtful, on the ball, Serena is a literary advocate of the first order.”

—Beth Kephart, a National Book Award finalist and winner of several grants and prizes, is the author of One Thing Stolen, Going Over, Handling the Truth, Small Damages, Flow, and numerous other novels, memoirs, and young adult novels.

“What a serendipitous event for me that the launch of Serena Agusto-Cox’s blog tour endeavor, Poetic Book Tours, coincided with the publication of my poetry collection, Doll God. Serena’s skills at organization, communication, and follow-through generated a collection of reviews for my book from readers who might not have discovered my poetry on their own. Serena’s professionalism and understanding helped me through a new experience with ease.”

—Luanne Castle, author of Doll God from Aldrich Press, which toured in February 2015.

“The Poetic Book Tours blog tour introduced my book to new audiences, and I made a few new friends in the literary community. It was a wonderful experience!”

—Jeannine Hall Gailey, author of The Robot Scientist’s Daughter from Mayapple Press, which toured in April 2015 and Field Guide to the End of the World from Moon City Press, which toured in Fall 2016.

“For a poet, it can be challenging finding credible, solid, and honest reviewers. Serena, via Poetic Book Tours, helped get my book out to both reviewers and readers, near and far. The honest & straightforward reviews have helped increase the book sales and started a dialogue, which is extremely gratifying.”

—Sweta Srivastava Vikram, award-winning poet & Amazon-bestselling author, whose book Wet Silence from Modern History Press toured in August and September 2015, with an exclusive video reading from the 2015 New York Poetry Festival, and Saris and a Single Malt from Modern History Press, which toured in August 2016.

“I had no idea just how far and wide my book would travel the more-than-capable hands of super blogger and Poetic Book Tours creator Serena Agusto-Cox but I sure was pleasantly surprised! She made certain my poems were seen, heard, reviewed and lauded on a variety of media platforms and it was a delight to read commentary from literary lovers all over the map. Serena is absolutely on point navigating the complex media terrain: highly organized, professional, caring, and she never misses a beat while ensuring that her client’s work gets the best light possible shined over it, front and center.”

—Michelle Bitting, author of The Couple Who Fell to Earth, which toured in June 2016, with an exclusive reading of “Lupercalia” on Poetic Book Tours.

“I know I can always count on Poetic Book Tours for a sensitive treatment of a genre that is basically impossible to find reliable reviewers for on my own. Serena Agusto-Cox’s team of reviewers digs deep into the meaning of the work and relates passages, themes, and concepts to their own lives. As a publisher, it is extremely gratifying for this crucial aid to bring Western audiences to India’s great poets, such as K.V. Dominic and others in our groundbreaking ‘Essential Readings’ series. Poetic Book Tours will always be our first choice at Modern History Press for grassroots marketing.”

–Victor R. Volkman, Senior Editor at Modern History Press; Essential Readings & Study Guide: Poems about Social Justice, Women’s Rights and the Environment by K.V. Dominic toured in Fall 2016 and is scheduled to tour in January 2017.

“Foremost, I am appreciative that Serena had the imagination and drive to create Poetic Book Tours. It is a necessary enterprise that meets the publicity needs that small/independent presses can’t fulfill through lack of resources. The tours are affordable; the reviewers are insightful and willing to engage your collection critically. It was also great that the bloggers wrote reviews for Amazon and Goodreads and shared their posts on Twitter. This tour made me excited about the release of my book, especially when mainstream reviewers often overlook poetry collections by small/independent presses, you start to think your work has no value, no readership, and this tour dispelled those anxieties.”

-Arisa White, author of You’re the Most Beautiful Thing That Happened from Augury Books, which toured in October 2016.

“There are lots of possibilities for blog tours for authors and one size does not fit all…but for poetry books and some literary books I am so pleased that I was introduced to Poetic Book Tours — Serena is a thoughtful curator and helpful to the publicist and the author. I am always happy to recommend this blog touring possibility for the right book!”

-Mary Bisbee-Beek, Publicity & Marketing Consultant, whose clients for Composing Temple Sunrise and Sensing Light toured in Fall 2016.

“Going on a Poetic Book Tour gave me the chance to help my book reach new readers through the bloggers’ responses to my work and their book giveaways. I also enjoyed contributing guest posts to several blogs, which prompted me to think about my writing life in new ways. For authors who do not have the time or resources to go on a physical book tour—and even for those who do—this can be a wonderful ‘virtual road trip’ to consider.”

-Matthew Thorburn, author of Dear Almost from Louisiana State University Press, which toured in Fall 2016.

“Literary marketing is hard to do, and marketing poetry is even harder.  For a reasonable fee, Poetic Book Tours provides valuable exposure through honest, thoughtful online reviews.  Serena Agusto-Cox is a pleasure to work with.  I look forward to using her service again when my third book is published.”

-Seth Steinzor, author of Among the Lost (In Dante’s Wake) from Fomite, which toured in January 2017.

“I’ve loved Poetic Book Tours, a chance to put my most recent poetry collection, WTF, out into the world. A Book Tour, and yet I didn’t have to travel anywhere. It felt good to have the book read and reviewed by so many people in all different parts of the country. Serena Agusto-Cox’s management of the tour was smooth, stress-free for me. I will definitely use Poetic Book Tours again, for my next collection.”

-Laura Foley, author of WTF: Poems from CW Books, which toured in Spring 2017.

“It has been a pleasure to work with Poetic Book Tours. The host is very attentive and cooperative. Everything was handled professionally and courteously. I will definitely be contacting her again regarding my upcoming work.”

-Diamante Lavendar, author of Poetry and Ponderings from Written Dreams Publishing, which toured in Summer 2017.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: